Forex - Dollar Steadies After Hitting 3-Week Low on Rate Cut Hopes

Forex - Dollar Steadies After Hitting 3-Week Low on Rate Cut Hopes

Investing.com  | May 14, 2019 08:42

Forex - Dollar Steadies After Hitting 3-Week Low on Rate Cut Hopes

Investing.com -- Foreign exchange markets are correcting some of Monday’s sharp movements in early trade in Europe on Tuesday, slowly absorbing the shock of the trade war escalation between the U.S. and China.

At 03:00 AM ET (0700 GMT), the dollar index was at 97.115, with the greenback giving up some of its gains against the euro, and risk-proxy currencies such as the Aussie, while clawing back its losses against the yen. The index measures the greenback against a basket of six major currencies.

Against the Chinese yuan, the U.S. dollar was flat at 6.8769.

On Monday, the index had hit a three-week low of 96.822 as investors fled the U.S. equity market in search of safe havens and raised their bets on the Federal Reserve cutting interest rates this year. The yield on the two-year Treasury note fell eight basis points on Monday to 2.19% and is now clearly below even the bottom end of the targeted Fed Funds rate of 2.25%-2.50%.

New York Fed President John Williams (NYSE:WMB) said in a speech on Monday that the low interest rate environment is likely to persist for years, but gave no clearer hints about how the Fed will react to the latest trade developments. Fed chairman Jerome Powell had called the trade dispute one of the key risks to the economy at his last press conference.

More clues as to the Fed’s reaction function could come when Kansas City Fed President Esther George speaks at 12:45 PM ET (1645 GMT), and Fed board member Mary Daly speaks at 6 PM ET (2200 GMT).

Before that, the first of the big European confidence indicators for May – Germany’s ZEW index - is due at 5 AM ET (0900 GMT), while sterling faces a test from the monthly labor market report at 4:30 AM ET (0830 GMT), where the market will be looking to see whether average earnings do any more to justify an interest rate hike when the fog of Brexit lifts.

Related News

Latest comments

Add a Comment
Please wait a minute before you try to comment again.
Discussion
Write a reply...
Please wait a minute before you try to comment again.

Trading in financial instruments and/or cryptocurrencies involves high risks including the risk of losing some, or all, of your investment amount, and may not be suitable for all investors. Prices of cryptocurrencies are extremely volatile and may be affected by external factors such as financial, regulatory or political events. Trading on margin increases the financial risks.
Before deciding to trade in financial instrument or cryptocurrencies you should be fully informed of the risks and costs associated with trading the financial markets, carefully consider your investment objectives, level of experience, and risk appetite, and seek professional advice where needed.
Fusion Media would like to remind you that the data contained in this website is not necessarily real-time nor accurate. The data and prices on the website are not necessarily provided by any market or exchange, but may be provided by market makers, and so prices may not be accurate and may differ from the actual price at any given market, meaning prices are indicative and not appropriate for trading purposes. Fusion Media and any provider of the data contained in this website will not accept liability for any loss or damage as a result of your trading, or your reliance on the information contained within this website.
It is prohibited to use, store, reproduce, display, modify, transmit or distribute the data contained in this website without the explicit prior written permission of Fusion Media and/or the data provider. All intellectual property rights are reserved by the providers and/or the exchange providing the data contained in this website.
Fusion Media may be compensated by the advertisers that appear on the website, based on your interaction with the advertisements or advertisers.

English (USA) English (India) English (Canada) English (Australia) English (South Africa) English (Philippines) English (Nigeria) Deutsch Español (España) Español (México) Français Italiano Nederlands Português (Portugal) Polski Português (Brasil) Русский Türkçe ‏العربية‏ Ελληνικά Svenska Suomi עברית 日本語 한국어 简体中文 繁體中文 Bahasa Indonesia Bahasa Melayu ไทย Tiếng Việt हिंदी
Sign out
Are you sure you want to sign out?
NoYes
CancelYes
Saving Changes

+

Download the Investing.com App

Get free real time quotes, charts and alerts on stocks, indices, currencies, commodities and bonds. Get free top of the line technical analysis/predictors.

Investing.com is better on the App!

More content, faster quotes and charts, and a smoother experience is available only on the App.